The main building

The main building
Chinretsukan Gallery attracted popularity as the main gallery of the Art Museum of the Tokyo University of the Arts (the former name: Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music) for a long time before the current main building of The University Art Museurn was established. The red scratch tiles on its facade are rarely seen among the campus buildings today. On the first floor is a space with windows while on the second floor is a high ceiling space that makes full use of its skylight. Each gallery space is unique. A mezzanine and a third floor were added at one point in time, but it is now restored to its original style. This building is open only during special exhibitions.

Two floors
429 square meters
Final completion in May, 1929
Planning: OKADA Shinichiro