Taikan Yokoyama "Ten subjects on seas and mountains respectively" - the discovered masterpieces
Session: July 27(Tue.) - August 29(Sun.), 2004
Closed on Mondays
Place + Hours: The University Art Museum, Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music
10:00 - 17:00 (entry by 16:30)
Admission: Adult 900yen, Students above junior high school 500yen
Organized by: The University Art Museum, Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music / NHK(Japan Broadcasting Corporation) / NHK Promotions
Sponsorship by: Dai Nippon Printing Co., Ltd. / Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance Co., Ltd.
Cooperation by: Yokoyama Taikan Memorial Hall

Taikan Yokoyama is one of the great masters in Japanese modern painting. In 1940 he made a series of twenty works, “Twenty subjects on seas and mountains”, known as “Ten subjects on seas and mountains respectively”, in memory of the fiftieth anniversary of his life as a painter and the 2600th year after the accession of the Emperor Jinmu. Taikan created a new style of Japanese painting, proposing “Moro-style” with Shunso Hishida, and left a lot of masterpieces. But this series is one of the most famous works in his life. In April 1940, “Ten subjects on seas” was opened to the public at Nihonbashi-Mitsukoshi and “Ten subjects on mountains” at Nihonbashi-Takashimaya. Afterward caught up into the waves of the time and drifting from one owner to another, a part of them were missing. Due to the discovery of the lost masterpieces, “Four subjects on the tide−autumn” and “Dance of a dragon”, nineteen works of the series have gathered in this historic exhibition.

Inquiry: NTT Hello Dial 03-5777-8600

grey line